Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Yummy muffin recipeAs I’ve mentioned I’ve been baking a lot lately and one of my go-to recipes is muffins. This basic muffin recipe is so straightforward and open to variation and interpretation that I’m always confident of delicious muffins – honed into its current form from years of making and trying new methods and combinations (this is basically my mums recipe combined with one from my high school recipe book). I usually add a bit of fruit – berries, bananas, apple (and a good dash of cinnamon) etc just before folding through the flour for a yummy breakfast on the run the next day.

This recipes makes 12-16 muffins depending on the size of your muffin tray.

Ingredients

  • 2 egg
  • 240ml milk
  • 8 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 400g plain flour or wholemeal flour
  • 150g caster sugar
  • 4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • optional extras: fruit, spices, chocolate chips etc to your taste. In the recipe for this post I added 2 cups of frozen raspberries.

DSC_0351

Method

  • Preheat oven to 200 C / 392 F. Grease muffin tin or use paper cases.
  • Beat egg with a fork. Then stir in milk and oil.
  • Sift flour into a large bowl. Add sugar, baking powder and salt.
  • Add egg mixture to flour (and any optional extras you may choose) and stir until flour is moistened. BATTER SHOULD BE LUMPY, DO NOT OVERMIX. If you overmix it will take all the air out and your muffins won’t rise to be nice and fluffy and light.
  • Fill muffin cups 2/3 full. Bake 20 to 25 minutes until golden brown.

Muffin mixtureDSC_0355

Enjoy your lovely homemade muffins and if you have any great additions or tips please share – I’m always looking for new variations and ways to improve my recipes.Delicious muffinsYummy muffin recipe

